International Military Writers’ Festival 2019

The Northern Territory’s economy is set to receive a significant boost with the upcoming Territory Tribute International Military Writers’ Festival expected to attract large numbers of visitors to Darwin from 5-7 April 2019. 

The three-day writers’ festival will feature author talks, panel discussions and literary sessions with Australia’s leading writers, historians and researchers.

Peter Forrest and Sheila Forrest are the Writers’ Festival Curators. They are NT based historians and authors, with a collective wealth of knowledge on the Territory’s intriguing past.

NT Minister for Tourism and Culture Lauren Moss said the writers’ festival was a perfect opportunity to learn from some of the nation’s best researchers, historians and writers.

“Military history is a big draw card for tourists and we have an incredible story to tell,” she said.

More than 20 sessions and 30 prominent military authors including Peter FitzSimons and Richard Walsh are included in the ‘War and Words’ themed festival. 

The International Military Writers’ Festival is one of several events included in the NT tourism initiate ‘Territory Tribute’ that will be bookended by the Bombing of Darwin Commemoration Ceremony on 19 February and Anzac Day on 25 April 2019. 

Tickets prices: 

  • Welcoming address by His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC – FREE. 
  • Peter FitzSimons opening night address – $45 for adults, $40 concession (plus booking fee). 
  • Festival tickets are $15 per session, $12 concession (plus booking fee) with discounts available for five or more sessions. 

Tickets can be purchased from the Territory Tribute website or through the Darwin Entertainment Centre Boxoffice.

The welcoming address on Friday, 5 April will be delivered by Governor General Sir Peter Cosgrove. .








6798 Total Views 4 Views Today

Posted by Brian Hartigan

Managing Editor Contact Publishing Pty Ltd PO Box 3091 Minnamurra NSW 2533 AUSTRALIA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *