ADFA’s 30th class graduates

Throwing their hats in the air today marked not only the end of their time at the Australian Defence Force Academy (ADFA), but also the start of a new phase in the military careers of 224 officer cadets and midshipmen.

CAPTIONThe class of 2016 throw their hats in the air to symbolise completion of three years military training and academic studies. They will now be posted to locations across Australia for further training or to commence their new postings. Photo by Michael Jackson-Rand

Governor General, His Excellency, General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove was joined by Minister for Defence Personnel Dan Tehan, Chief of the Defence Force Air Chief Marshal Mark Binskin and other distinguished guests and families at the 2016 Graduation Parade.

The achievement was extra special for ADFA as it marked the graduation of Acadamy’s 30th class. Graduates from ADFA’s first class, who graduated in 1986, were also invited to attend the celebration.


Air Commodore Alan Clements, who completes his tenure as Commandant of ADFA with the 2016 Graduating Class, said the Parade marked the successful completion of academic studies and military training at ADFA for the young men and women.

“I commenced my tenure at ADFA with this cohort and have seen them grow from young and enthusiastic individuals to mature and dedicated junior leaders for our Defence Force,” Air Commodore Clements said.

“I am certain that they will make fine officers, demonstrating high levels of courage, respect, integrity and professionalism, values that are critical to success in the ADF. They join over 6200 ADFA graduates who have gone on to serve our nation with distinction.”

During the Parade, the Academy’s most prestigious award, the Commander in Chief Medal, was awarded to Midshipman Kate Millward.

This medal is awarded to the most outstanding graduate in the fields of military and academic achievement.

Minister for Defence Personnel Tehan presented the Military Citizenship Award to Officer Cadet Michael Snart on behalf of the Minister for Defence.

Air Chief Marshal Mark Binskin presented the Chief of the Defence Force Sword of Honour for Leadership to Officer Cadet Johnathan Hensman, and Vice Admiral Ray Griggs, Vice Chief of the Defence Force, presented the RSL Sword of Honour for Service to Officer Cadet Maxwell Harding.

Midshipman Peter Hunter, Officer Cadet James Wilson and Officer Cadet Jake Kleinschmidt were awarded the Chief of Navy, Chief of Army and Chief of Air Force Prizes respectively.

The officer cadets and midshipmen who graduated today will be posted to establishments around Australia to continue their training, or to commence operational duties..









. .
12307 Total Views 4 Views Today

Posted by Brian Hartigan

Managing Editor Contact Publishing Pty Ltd PO Box 3091 Minnamurra NSW 2533 AUSTRALIA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.