ADFA claims victory at annual regatta

The Australian Defence Force Academy (ADFA) rowing team has been crowned winner of the Disher Cup Regatta for 2022, after winning the men’s coxed eight in a tight contest on Lake Burley Griffin, Canberra.

CAPTION: ADFA Men’s Rowing team in action at the Disher Cup 2022. Story by Sam Cuninghame. All photos by Officer Cadet Elliot Parker.

The Disher Cup Regatta is a six-race event held annually between ADFA, Royal Military College – Duntroon (RMC-D) and the Australian National University (ANU) teams.

While the results of the regatta were evenly split at two wins a-piece, ADFA’s victory in the men’s eight, the flagship event, secured them the Disher Cup and overall victory.

ADFA Adjutant Captain Joshua Jelly said the ADFA teams deserved the victory after showing consistent resolve and delivering on the big day.


Preview image for asset

CAPTION: Mixed ADFA Men’s and Women’s Rowing team with their trophies after winning men’s coxed fours and women’s coxed fours.







Preview image for asset

CAPTION: ADFA Men’s Rowing team celebrate their victory at Lake Burley Griffin, Canberra.







Preview image for asset


CAPTION: ADFA Women’s Rowing team in action on Lake Burley Griffiin.







Preview image for asset


CAPTION: ADFA Women’s Rowing team with their trophy after winning the Colonel Diane Harris Trophy.







“This is a massive achievement for both our men and women. They worked really hard and we are very happy and proud of their win,” Captain Jelly said.

The Commanding Officer of ADFA, Lieutenant Colonel David Cave, said this year’s race was particularly satisfying given the return of the event and spectators.

“After two years’ cancellation due to COVID-19, it was great to have the opportunity again to celebrate the longstanding goodwill between ADFA, ANU and RMC-D,” Lieutenant Colonel Cave said.

“The event enhanced personal, mental and physical qualities; the traits promoted by all three institutions in their students.”

The Disher Cup was named after Captain H.C. Clive Disher, of the Australian Army Medical Corps, who stroked the 1919 Australian Imperial Force Number 1 crew that beat Oxford University in the final of the Inter-allied Services event at the Henley Peace Regatta after the end of World War 1.


. .
1189 Total Views 2 Views Today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.