New members of the Veterans’ Review Board appointed

Members of the Veterans’ Review Board (VRB) have been appointed by Governor-General Sir Peter Cosgrove.

Minister for Veterans’ Affairs Darren Chester announced the appointments today.

There will be 17 members of the VRB appointed for a term of five years and two members reappointed until 11 November 2020 to mentor and develop the skills of the new appointees.

The 11 senior members appointed are Mr Gary Barrow, Dr Peter Habersberger, Mr Douglas Humphreys, Ms Louise Hunt, Mr Christopher Keher, Mr Michael Kelly, Ms Hilary Kramer, Associate Professor David Letts, Mr David Thomae, Ms Susan Trotter, Mr Leslie Young.

Five services members appointed are Captain Steven Coghlan, Brigadier Alison Creagh, Colonel Robin Regan, Commander Sophia White, Colonel Warwick Young.


Ms Mary Desses, Dr Bernard Hockings and Professor Robert McLaughlin will be appointed as the three members of the Veterans’ Review Board [sic].

Biographies of the Veterans’ Review Board members can be viewed here.

“These appointments ensure the Board will have relevant experience suitable for deciding applications for review of decisions of the Repatriation and Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commissions,” Mr Chester said.

“The members have outstanding experience and achievements in their fields and I am confident that each member will serve the veteran community with distinction in this important role.

“I congratulate all the appointees and look forward to their contribution to the important work of the VRB.”

The VRB is part of the veterans and military rehabilitation and compensation determining systems.

It is a tribunal created by parliament to review decisions about disability pensions, war widows’ and widowers’ pensions, and attendant allowances under the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 and rehabilitation, compensation and other benefits under the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 2004.






. .
6937 Total Views 2 Views Today

Posted by Brian Hartigan

Managing Editor Contact Publishing Pty Ltd PO Box 3091 Minnamurra NSW 2533 AUSTRALIA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.