Australian Invictus Games Team announced

Forty-three current and former military personnel have been selected to represent Australia at the 2017 Invictus Games in Toronto, Canada, from 23-30 September 2017.

CAPTIONFormer soldier Darren Robinson, who has been selected on the Australian Invictus Games team to go to Canada in September, receives shot-put pointers by Australian athletics coach Chris Nunn at the Sydney Academy of Sport and Recreation. Photo by Corporal Mark Doran.

The Invictus Games is an international, adaptive multi-sports competition for current and former military personnel who have been wounded, injured or become ill in service.

More than 550 athletes from up to 17 nations are expected to compete in the games’ individual and team sports, including swimming, archery, cycling, track and field, sitting volleyball, wheelchair basketball, wheelchair rugby, wheelchair tennis, powerlifting, golf and indoor rowing.

Minister for Veterans’ Affairs Dan Tehan said it was an honour to announce the Australian team for the 2017 Invictus Games.


“As a nation we honour the service and sacrifice of the men and women who defend our freedoms and values,” Mr Tehan said.

“And we respect the courage and determination of these Australian athletes who have trained, practiced and overcome adversity to reach an elite level of their sport.

“Every Australian will be cheering on our team to succeed when they compete in Canada.”



The 2017 Australian Invictus Games team comprises:

  • Peter Arbuckle
  • Petty Officer Latisha Baker
  • David Bretherton
  • Chris Clarke
  • Private Danielle Close
  • Mick Collins
  • Tyrone Gawthorne
  • Michaela Gilewicz
  • Lance Corporal Samantha Gould
  • Tim Grover
  • Craig Hancock
  • Squadron Leader Danny Jeffery
  • Jason Jinks
  • Corporal Heidi Joosten
  • Captain Emma Kadziolka
  • Signaller Kristin Lane
  • Shaun Lawler
  • Michael Lyddiard
  • Scott Maclean
  • Sergeant Graeme Marshall
  • Petty Officer Ian McCracken
  • Squadron Leader Paul McGinty
  • Sapper Curtis McGrath
  • Jason McNulty
  • David Neagle
  • Corporal Sonya Newman
  • Pilot Officer Nathan Parker
  • Daniel Parker
  • Private Christopher Rapson
  • Leading Aircraftman Wade Roberts
  • Leading Aircraft Woman Melissa Roberts
  • Garry Robinson
  • Darren Robinson
  • Sergeant Peter Rudland
  • Stewart Sherman
  • Sarah Sliwka
  • Tony Sten
  • Jamie Tanner
  • Richard Wassell
  • Sarah Watson
  • Lance Corporal Gary Wilson
  • Jeff Wright
  • Donna Young


The Australian Defence Force and the Returned and Services League (RSL) are supporting a combined team to compete at the games.

Athletes will be supported by dedicated coaches and a full medical and management team.

Follow Australia’s Team Invictus on Facebook –




+ +






. .
10987 Total Views 6 Views Today

Posted by Brian Hartigan

Managing Editor Contact Publishing Pty Ltd PO Box 3091 Minnamurra NSW 2533 AUSTRALIA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.