New appointees to Australian War Memorial Council

Minister for Veterans’ Affairs Matt Keogh today announced three new members have been appointed to the Australian War Memorial Council.

File image

AWM Council is responsible for the conduct and control of the affairs and policy of the Memorial, including the nature of its displays and exhibits, maintaining the Commemorative Area as well as undertaking a major expansion project.

New appointments bring a fresh perspective to the Council and ensure the Memorial continues to adapt and reach contemporary audiences.

Mr Keogh said the reappointment of three existing council members would also ensure continuity and retention of corporate knowledge.

“Those selected have senior leadership experience, possessing expertise relevant to the functions of the Memorial and have a deep understanding of, and experience in, Australia’s military history, military service, and commemoration of military service,” he said.

The following reappointments will ensure continuity in the work of the Council:

  • Glenn Keys – a Council Member since 2021, Executive Chairman of Aspen Medical, with a distinguished career in the ADF. Mr Keys will commence on 1 July 2024 for a period of three years.
  • Susan Neuhaus – a Council Member since 2018, Patron of the Virtual War Memorial, with a distinguished career in the ADF. Dr Neuhaus chairs the Australian War Memorial Development Committee. Dr Neuhaus will commence on 1 July 2024 for a period of three years.
  • Major General (ret’d)Greg Melick – a Council Member since 2018 and Chair of the Finance Audit and compliance Committee, National President of the Returned and Services Leagues of Australia with more than 50 years’ experience serving in the Australian Army Reserve. Major General Melick is a Barrister and Deputy President of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal. Major General Melick will commence on 1 July 2024 and his term will end on 30 September 2025.

“On behalf of the Australian government, I’d also like to acknowledge and thank Josephine Stone, Rhondda Vanzella and James McMahon for their service to the Council,” Mr Keogh said.





2822 Total Views 4 Views Today

Posted by Brian Hartigan

Managing Editor Contact Publishing Pty Ltd PO Box 3091 Minnamurra NSW 2533 AUSTRALIA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *